Introduction to Mumbai Police

mumbai police intoduction, history of mumbai police, structure of mumbai police, Police stations in mumbai, mumbai police stations address, list of mumabi police stations, mumbai police help

Mumbai Police also called Brihanmumbai Police is responsible for maintaining law and order in Mumbai. The tag line of this department is "Sadrakṣaṇāya Khalanigrahaṇāya" which means protect the good and punish the bad. Mumbai police is controlled by an IPS ranked officer Commissioner of Mumbai Police.Mumbai Police Logo

When Mumbai was under Portuguese control in 16th century, they establish some law and order here. Then in 1669 East India Company made Bhandari Militia for controlling the laws.In March,1780 this force was removed and and rule of Deputy of Police was created and then in 1793 this post was also removed and new post of Superintendent of Police was initialized, it has 14 police zones .Sir Frank Souter was appointed the first Police Commissioner of Bombay in December 1864.

In 1947, after the freedom of India,J.S. Bharucha was the first Indian head of the Bombay Police.In 1965 dog squad for Mumbai police was started.In 1976, Mumbai police used the first computer. Narcotics and an anti-terrorist cells were started in 1989.In 1995 Mumbai police control room became computerized and Mumbai police went online in 1997.So many changes were introduced in 2005 in Mumbai police including vehicles,guns and other equipments. In May,2009, a cyber crime police station was also created.Mumbai Police dress
Police Co-missioner who is head on Mumbai Police is under the Home Ministry. Mumbai Has 11 police zones and 25 traffic police zones controlled by DCP of Mumbai. There are 89 police stations under Mumbai police.

Structure of Mumbai Police:

Comissioner of Police

Joint Commissioner of Police

Additional Commissioner of Police

Deputy Commissioner of Police

Additional Deputy Commissioner of Police

Assistant Commissioner of Police

Police Inspector

Assistant Police Inspector

Police Sub Inspector

Assistant Sub Inspector

Head Constable

Senior Police Constable

Mumbai Police has following departments :

1. Protection & Security
2. Crime Branch
3. Cyber Cell
4. Quick Response Team
5. Local Armed Police
6. Anti Robbery Squad
7. Law and Order
8. Traffic Police
9. Administration
10.Social Service Cell
11.Narcotics Cell
12.Wireless Cell
13.Economic Offences Wing
14.Anti-Extortion Cell
15.Modus Operandi Bureau
16.Missing Persons Bureau
17.Special Branch
18.Force One
19.Riot Control Police
20.Detection Unit
21.Anti Terrorist Squad
22.Juvenile AID Protection Unit

List of Police Stations in Mumbai

Bandra Kurla Complex Police Station
Bandra East, Maharashtra, India‎ - 022 26504481‎

Byculla Police Station
Byculla, Bombay, Maharashtra, India‎ - 022 23748292‎

Sandhurst Road Station
Ramchandra Bhatt Marg, Dongri, Umerkhadi, Bombay, Maharashtra, India‎

Police Station
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India‎

Dharavi Police Station
Dharavi, Bombay, Maharashtra, India‎

Dadar Police Station
Bhavani Shankar Mg, Mumbai, Maharashtra 400025, India‎ - 022 24303654‎

Maharashtra State Police Headquarters
Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Marg, Apollo Bandar, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India‎

Santa Cruz West Police Station
Santacruz West, Bombay, Maharashtra, India‎

Gamdevi Police Station
Pandita Ramabai Road, P Ramabai Marg, Papanas Wadi, Gamdevi, Bombay, Maharashtra 400007, India‎ - 022 23803505‎

Police Station
Ambewadi, Girgaon Chowpatty, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India‎

Police Station
Dr Choitram Gidwani Road, Chembur, Bombay, Maharashtra, India‎

Sion and Matunga Police Station
Brhmanwada, Bombay, Maharashtra, India‎

Bandra Police Station
Santosh Nagar, Bandra West, Bombay, Maharashtra, India‎

Powai Police Station
D P Road No 9, Chandivali, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India‎

Agripada Police Station
Dr Anandrao Nair Marg, Mumbai, Maharashtra 400011, India‎ - 022 23070532‎

Kalachowkey Police Station
Srikant Hadkar Marg, Mumbai, Maharashtra 400033, India‎ - 022 23754128‎

Matunga Police Station
Dr Ambedkar Road, Mumbai, Maharashtra 400019, India‎ - 022 24021512‎

Girgaon Police Station
Dr Bhadkamkar Marg, Girgaon, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India‎

Mumbai Police Headquarters
Dhobi Talao, Bombay, Maharashtra, India‎

Antop Hill Police Station
Antop Hill, Bombay, Maharashtra, India‎

Dindoshi Police Station
Malad East, Bombay, Maharashtra, India‎

Kasturba Marg Police Station
Kasturba Road, Mumbai, Maharashtra 400066, India‎ - 022 28066158‎

Juhu Police Station
V M Vitthal Road, Santacruz, Vile Parle West, Mumbai, Maharashtra 400056, India‎ - 022 26183856‎

Kanjurmarg Police Station
Mumbai, Maharashtra 400042, India‎ - 022 25783999‎

Vikhroli Police Station
Kannamwar Nagar II, Vikhroli East, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India‎

Colaba Police Station
Sadhu Vaswani Rd, Cuffe Parade, Bombay, Maharashtra, India‎

Colaba Police Station
Mandlik Rd, Police Colony, Apollo Bandar, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India‎

Oshiwara Police Station
Mhada Colony, Andheri West, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India‎

Worli Police Station
Dr Annie Besant Rd, Worli, Bombay, Maharashtra, India‎

Khar Police Station
Bombay, Maharashtra, India‎


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: